American Presidency Series

American Presidency Series

Founding series editors: Donald R. McCoy, Clifford S. Griffin, and Homer E. Socolofsky

"An admirable series of succinct critical histories."—Michael R. Beschloss in the Washington Post

"A massive contribution to the understanding of that complex and perplexing institution, the American presidency."—American Studies

"This series should be in all undergraduate and public libraries."—Choice

"These concise, well-written volumes provide lucid and balanced appraisals of individual presidential politics and performance. Political scientists, historians, journalists, and anyone wanting a richer grasp of the American presidency and American political history would do well to read this splendid collection."—Thomas E. Cronin

"An invaluable resource to students of American history and American political institutions."—Fred I. Greenstein

"The American Presidency Series has taken its place among the most illustrious multi-volume political histories. More than a rich panoply, here is historical synthesis at its best."—R. Gordon Hoxie

American Presidency Series - Series

View options: 
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5

The Presidencies of Grover Cleveland

Richard E. Welch, Jr.

June 1988
280 pages

The Presidencies of James A. Garfield and Chester A. Arthur

Justus D. Doenecke

April 1981
244 pages

The Presidencies of William Henry Harrison and John Tyler

Norma Lois Peterson

June 1989
344 pages

The Presidencies of Zachary Taylor and Millard Fillmore

Elbert B. Smith

August 1988
320 pages

The Presidency of Abraham Lincoln

Phillip Shaw Paludan

May 1994
408 pages

The Presidency of Andrew Jackson

Donald B. Cole

June 1993
352 pages

The Presidency of Andrew Johnson

Albert Castel

October 1979
272 pages

The Presidency of Benjamin Harrison

Homer E. Socolofsky and Allan B. Spetter

May 1987
280 pages

The Presidency of Calvin Coolidge

Robert H. Ferrell

June 1998
260 pages

View options: 
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5