Stand UP Award Ceremony

University Press of Kansas, 2502 Westbrooke Circle, Lawrence, KS 66045

UPK authors Farina King and Tai S. Edwards will be presented with the 2022 Stand UP Award from the Association of University Presses for their powerful advocacy work in support of UPK and university press publishing. This award honors those who through their words and actions have done extraordinary work to support, defend, and celebrate the university press community. The award is intended to recognize advocates who stand up from within the communities that presses work with, speak to, and serve.

Both authors have published works with the University Press of Kansas in the field of Indigenous studies. Tai S. Edwards is the author of Osage Women and Empire: Gender and Power. Farina King is the author of The Earth Memory Compass: Diné Landscapes and Education in the Twentieth Century.